Foundation: Board of Governors


Board of Governors

The Board of Governors for the Long Beach City College Foundation consists of volunteer business and community leaders from the Long Beach area. Through the Foundation, the Governors work to raise funds for the Long Beach Community College District in order to provide an outstanding and dynamic learning environment for all to succeed.

Members of the Board of Governors can access the online board portal by clicking here.

Executive Committee

Name Title
Aaron Moore President
Sumer Temple President-Elect
Mark Taylor Treasurer
Cynthia Terry Secretary
Dr. Serafin Zasueta Past President
Jayne Lastusky Vice President, Foundation Scholarships & Awards
Barbara Ellis Vice President, Stewardship
Robyn Gordon-Peterson Vice President, President’s Circle
Mario Vargas Vice President, Audit Committee
Dr. Sharifa Batts Vice President, Athletics Fundraising
Kris Gragson Vice President, Marketing
Dr. Elizabeth Riley Vice President, Board Development
Janeen Steele Vice President, Equity, Inclusion & Accessibility
Dr. Ardel Guillamas Avelino Vice President, Alumni
Valarie Frost At-Large Members
Jerry Green At-Large Members
Alexis Muro Student Representative
Virginia Baxter District Board of Trustees Liaison
Dr. Mike Muñoz Superintendent-President
Tracy Carmichael College Liaison
Paul Kaminski CEO

Board of Governors

Name Company or Community Position
Chamindri Aluwihare Community Leader
Edward Arnold Arnold & Associates
John Arens Community Leader
Ardel Guillamas Avelino St. Mary Medical Center
Williams Barnes (Emeritus) (Deceased) Community Leader
Jennifer Baker Community Leader
Jill Baker (Honorary) Long Beach Unified School District
Sharifa Batts Community Leader
Virginia Baxter (Honorary) Long Beach City College Board of Trustees
Martha Molina Bernadett Molina Healthcare
Rose Burgos Black Community Leader
G. Loraine Brault Community Leader
Dana Buchanan Community Leader
James R. Callahan (Emeritus) Community Leader
Mack Calvin Community Leader
Blanche Cannady (Emeritus-Deceased) Nautilus International Holding Corporation
Tracey Carmichael (Honorary) Long Beach City College
Gloria Carter St. Mary Medical Center
Herlinda Chico (Honorary) Long Beach City College Board of Trustees
James Choura The Grand
Tom Clark (Emeritus – Deceased) Community Leader
Sterling Clayton (Emeritus) Community Leader
Donald Cochran Community Leader
Karen Codman Karen Codman FSC Securities
Jane Close Conoley (Honorary) California State University, Long Beach
Gary Cooper (Emeritus) Community Leader
Michelle Corder Community Leader
Mary Crane Community Leader
Mark Curtis (Emeritus) Community Leader
Diane DeWalsche Community Leader
Michele A. Dobson Law Office of Michele A. Dobson
Minnie Douglas (Emeritus) Community Leader
Rick DuRee Grand Prix Foundation Long Beach
Barbara Ellis Community Leader
Anne Emigh Emigh Dental Care
Marcelle Epley Long Beach Community Foundation
Sarah Faulkner Community Leader
Valerie Frost City of Lakewood
John Fylpaa Community Leader
Mark A. Garlington Garlington Orthodontists
Congressman Robert Garcia (Honorary) Community Leader
Joen Garnica Garnica Interiors
Daniel P. Gooch Community Leader
Ivy Arlinda Goolsby International Realty & Investments
Randy Gordon Long Beach Area Chamber of Commerce
Robyn Gordon-Peterson Community Leader
Kris Gragson Community Leader
Jerry Green Community Leader
Kimberly Gros Community Leader
Mark Guillen Community Leader
Natalie Hale Media Partners World Wide
John W. Hancock (Emeritus) Bancap Investment Group
Jan B. Hower Community Leader
Bryon Johnson Community Leader
Paul Kaminski Long Beach City College Foundation
E Jan Kehoe (Emeritus) Community Leader
Raymond Lasher Lasher Consulting
Jayne Lastusky Community Leader
Judge Gibson Lee (Emeritus) Superior Court of Long Beach
Natalie Leighton Long Beach Chamber of Commerce
Patricia Lofland (Emeritus) Community Leader
Bob Luskin (Emeritus) Community Leader
Jannie Mackay Community Leader
Bruce D. D. MacRae UPS
Vivian Malauulu (Honorary) Long Beach City College Board of Trustees
Debbie Malumed (Honorary) Physician
William H. Marmion (Emeritus) Community Leader
Mayor Ann Marshall (Honorary) City of Avalon
George Medak (Emeritus) Community Leader
Aaron Moore California State University, Office of the Chancellor
Heather Morris Moro Community Leader
Mike Muñoz (Honorary) Long Beach City College
George Murchison (Emeritus) Community Leader
Mike Murray (Emeritus) Community Leader
Jeffrey A. Napper LBS Financial Credit Union
Anne Newman (Emeritus) Community Leader
Suzanne Nosworthy Community Leader
Uduak-Joe Ntuk (Honorary) Long Beach City College Board of Trustees
Esther Ogunrinu Community Leader
Beverly O’Neil (Emeritus) Community Leader
Jim Ostach Community Leader
Bret Parker Community Leader
Ariel Pe City of Lakewood
Debra Bryant-Peterson Community Leader
Susan Redfield Community Leader
Mayor Rex Richardson (Honorary) City of Long Beach
Elizabeth Riley Cerritos College
Judy Ross Community Leader
Brian Russell Kinnery’s Brokerage & Elite Property Management
Derek Santifer Community Leader
Lois Schneider (Honorary) Community Leader
Jon Shultz
James C. “Jim” Serles (Emeritus) Community Leader
Martin Simon (Emeritus) Triangle Bass Manufacturing Company
Jean B. Smith (Emeritus) Community Leader
Gloria St. Martin-Lowry Community Leader
Janeen Steel Vanaman German L.L.P.
Heather Summers LBS Financial Credit Union
Mark Taylor The Boeing Company
Sabira Tejani Physician
Sumer Temple Don Temple Storage
Cynthia Terry Community Leader
Donita Van Horik Community Leader
Mario Vargas Lakewood Family YMCA
Cloy J. “Mike” Walter California State University, Long Beach
W. Gary Westling Community Leader
Jeff A. Williams Community Leader
Felton Williams Community Leader
Elizabeth Willis Community Leader
Nancy Yoho (Honorary) Community Leader
Serafin Zasuesta Organizational Consultant
Sunny Zia (Honorary) Long Beach City College Board of Trustees